Be hear, meow.

Qigong1

You tell me this town ain’t got no heart
(Well, well, well, you can never tell)
The sunny side of the street is dark
(Well, well, well, you can never tell)
A young man woke up to an irritating itching sensation in the middle of his head; I think some may refer to it as an idea. A ceaseless sense of urge to pour over his keyboard instantly inspired him. He felt a rapid tenacity and burning want to run up Everest, paraglide off Machu Picchu, roller blade The Great Wall in its entirety, drink the finest Darjeeling tea in the Taj Mahal, and stand in the middle of the Roman Colosseum pretending he is Russell Crowe. Then a sobering thought pulled him down from the clouds, “If I can’t appreciate where I am at this moment, how can I fully appreciate these adrenaline pumping adventures and breath-taking visions when I am there, now?”
All those experiences sound amazing, but when you get there, will you really appreciate them? Will you truly comprehend the beauty, awe-inspiring, and humbling excitement of the sublime? The reality is that most of us can’t see the forest for the trees and the silver-lining in everyday, mundane occurrences. Without diving too deep into a philosophical spiral of absurdist ramblings, why don’t we stop and smell the roses more often? Personally, I am consistently daydreaming about adventure, excitement, and an insatiable hunger to escape monotony of my direct experience and jump, crown first, into novel, H.S. Thompson-esque exploits and throwing myself directly into corporeal and psychological jeopardy.

As much as I long for these musings as my everyday experience (as I’m sure many of us share), I can’t help the feeling that there is much of the same in my backyard. My hometown, Valdosta Georgia may not look like much from the outside, but that’s all a matter of who you ask, right? There’s plenty of trouble to find yourself in. If you like football and beer, there’s certainly no shortage of greek-life, being one of the regions premier college towns. If you like music, simply follow your ears down Valdosta’s main veins , Baytree Road and South Patterson Street on any-given-night. Loud, smelly, amusement parks your thing? Hell, we have one of them too (Wild-Adventures)! Like holding signs, picketing, and expressing your opinion in public? Valdosta has an ideally progressive activist community😉. Local produce, pleasant parks, charming chow-houses, and so many shopping centers Santa could fire his entire factory floor, (just kidding Santa, I’ve been good… ish).
By now I’m beginning to wonder why people even leave… o.O I almost talked myself out of it. But, just like any place on this beautiful earth, it casts a shadow. Hyper-romanticizing, while fun and emotionally exhilarating, has potential for soul-crushing devastation when reality sinks in. Healthy optimism is a useful tool and when exercised regularly, will often lead to opportiunity. After-all, every experience is a matter of perspective and relativity.
Everyday is a good day, and every place is a good place, some just better than others at times. So find your bliss and you’ll never miss life’s grand adventures!6788409332_4a73bc7cce_z

 

Leave a Reply

